POLITICAL PARTY POOPER

WE WON'T BE SAFE WHILE POLITICAL PARTIES ARE LEGAL

MEDICARE (SOCIALIZED MEDICINE) SAVES LIFE OF BELOVED GRANDMOTHER

Posted by politicalpartypooper on August 11, 2009

The following email is copied from Charlie Sykes’ blog.  Charlie is a Conservative Talk Radio host in Milwaukee, WI.  Unbeknownst to Charlie, this email proves that the government allows individuals to decide for themselves what care they receive, while under similar circumstances, private insurers probably would have let this Grandmother die. Charlie called this his Email of the Day.

Charlie, I put this letter together to tell you about an amazing woman and how I am concerned that congress will keep us from any more stories like this.

I wanted to share this true story about my mother with you and I would love to see if I could get a response from our two Senators and some of our congress people.

On Christmas day of 2004, my mother who was 92 at the time was packing up to head home with my daughter when she lost her balance and fell to the floor. She fractured her hip. In the emergency room the doctors told me that it was sheered off and that she was in so much pain that they have given her all the morphine they could and she was still not comfortable.

They told me my options, because of her age and the fact that she had heart problems; she probably would not last long because of the degree of damage and the amount of pain that she was experiencing. On the other hand she probably would not survive a surgery and even if she did at her age it was unlikely that she would every walk again. They also told me that even if she does make it through the surgery she probably would not survive the recovery. Great option, but they were mine!

They told me to go home and think about it and come back the next morning and let the doctors know what we wanted to do. Needless to say I did not sleep that night. I was at the hospital the next morning at 5:30 am.

Charles Froelich

When I got there I was met by a heart surgeon and I asked what he was doing there. He said that his friend the local orthopedic surgeon was prepping my mother for surgery and wanted him to assist. I said I guess my opinion was not needed. He said no on the contrary it was up to me but the doctor said that he was sure she would make it and he did not want her to have to go through the rest of her life in bed. I signed the form!

The surgery was to take four to five hours, two hours later this talk good looking doctor in full surgery garb came in to the waiting room and asked for me. I was convinced that she had not made it, instead he told me that she was doing very well and that if she was not walking in thirty days it would be my fault not his.

Thirty days to the date of her fall she walked to her apartment and for the next two years she lived her life like it would go on forever.  She loved her sports; she followed the Packers, Brewers, Buck and Badgers. She listened to every Badger game; I would call her after every game to make sure she was okay because she got so excited.

The key is we had her for another couple of years and treasured every moment we had with her, she really loved life. Her doctor told us that she was never in better shape; she walked up and down stairs and became known for her daily trips through the hallways of her apartment to keep herself fit. She did her own shopping and everyone loved her. She is no longer with us but the extra time we had with her was invaluable.

I do not want politicians telling me who should live and who should die, life is too valuable.

Medicare paid for this Grandmother’s surgery, not private insurance.  Fact.

Medicare is socialized medicine.  Fact.

I’m still scratching my head trying to figure out what conservative talking point Charlie was trying to illustrate.  The only point that was made in the end is that the government run Medicare system treated this Grandmother far better than any private insurer would have.

Maybe his point was that this Grandmother should have been put to death, and that with private insurers, we wouldn’t have wasted taxpayer money on such a frivolous surgery?  Who knows.  I think it’s safe to say that had this Grandmother been under the age of sixty-five and in similar condition, a private insurer would have let her die.

Leave a Reply

 
