POLITICAL PARTY POOPER

WE WON'T BE SAFE WHILE POLITICAL PARTIES ARE LEGAL

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY

Posted by politicalpartypooper on September 29, 2008

So I’m watching the Green Bay Packers on Fox yesterday, and up comes a commercial break.  If you knew me at all, you’d know that I had already paused the game for a half hour, in order to fast forward through commercials.  But as I was fast forwarding, I caught a hazy glimpse of John McCain.  Next commercial break, while FF-ing, I saw Barrack Obama whiz past me.

It went on like this pretty much the entire first half, and part of the second half, with the two candidates desperately reaching out to a guy who was busy avoiding them for three hours on a Sunday afternoon, by using a remote control.  If only we could control all of our elected officials with a remote control, things might look better in Washington and at home.

As I look back, I can add another reason as to why Presidential Campaigns cost so much.  Not only did both candidates buy air time during one of the busiest timeslots in America, but neither candidate reached the audience they thought they would be reaching.  That’s because of good ol’ DVR, and our ability to blaze right past our politicians’ highly priced minute. I know Barrack wanted to sit down in my living room and have a conversation with me (more like talk AT me) for a bit.  I realize that John McCain just wants to share (steal?) my beer with (from) me.  But I’m just not willing let these guys in on my most private day of the week.

I’d bet I’m not the only one.  If I were running either campaign, Sunday afternoon time slots would be anathema.  I’d look at these opportunities to reach voters as guaranteed wastes of money instead.  If I’m spending $30 million dollars a month trying to win a campaign, I’m not going to be throwing crap against the wall hoping it sticks, and Sunday afternoon ads are like throwing crap against a wall.

2 Responses to “WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY”

  1. Qobdbhbb said

    1jRHsg comment3 ,

  2. Hey there nice post and nice blog you have here! come check me out at http://gettargettedtwitters.com/ it is an amazing site and you should check it out if you want targeted followers for your twitter account!

Leave a Reply

 
